A home in Israel and a home in the U.S.

Chelsea Wellmer writes:

This past weekend, trips went out to Tel Aviv, Jerusalem, and the Dead Sea/Masada.  While I had hoped to visitthe Dead Sea (an explanation to come later inthe blog), I spent the weekend on the kibbutz and went shopping at the Druze market some twenty minutes away.  I still refuse to let myself believe that I only have 5 days left before I board a flight to go back home.  Even though my real home is in the States, a new home has quickly developed here.  Not only do my roommates fondly refer to our little room on the kibbutz as “home” but we’ve also developed a system for day to day activities.  There’s an understanding of who wakes everyone else up in the morning, who gets to take the first shower after a day of digging, and when to make runs to the kibbutz market.  We even have our own kibbutz pet, a tiny black kitten that likes to sleep in our room at night.  But already the telltale signs of our final departure are appearing.  Once at a capacity of four, our room now only holds three with one of my roommates having left Saturday afternoon (a shout out to my three roommates Hannah, Sarai F., and Sarai M.).

While I write from the home front on the kibbutz, I understand digging at Megiddo is going well.  Since Tuesday I’ve spent a total of three hours up on the tel due to a minor surgery I had last week (hence no Dead Sea for me).  No one seems thrilled by the end of the season, and I’m sure people would rather be digging than cleaning the site for pictures, yet the season must end sometime.  I can’t speak for everyone, but I plan on coming back to Megiddo for the 2012 season!

<!–[if !mso]> <! st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } –>

This past weekend, trips went out to Tel Aviv, Jerusalem, and the Dead Sea/Masada.  While I had hoped to visit the Dead Sea (an explanation to come later in the blog), I spent the weekend on the kibbutz and went shopping at the Druze market some twenty minutes away.  I still refuse to let myself believe that I only have 5 days left before I board a flight to go back home.  Even though my real home is in the States, a new home has quickly developed here.  Not only do my roommates fondly refer to our little room on the kibbutz as “home” but we’ve also developed a system for day to day activities.  There’s an understanding of who wakes everyone else up in the morning, who gets to take the first shower after a day of digging, and when to make runs to the kibbutz market.  We even have our own kibbutz pet, a tiny black kitten that likes to sleep in our room at night.  But already the telltale signs of our final departure are appearing.  Once at a capacity of four, our room now only holds three with one of my roommates having left Saturday afternoon (a shout out to my three roommates Hannah, Sarai F., and Sarai M.).

While I write from the home front on the kibbutz, I understand digging at Megiddo is going well.  Since Tuesday I’ve spent a total of three hours up on the tel due to a minor surgery I had last week (hence no Dead Sea for me).  No one seems thrilled by the end of the season, and I’m sure people would rather be digging than cleaning the site for pictures, yet the season must end sometime.  I can’t speak for everyone, but I plan on coming back to Megiddo for the 2012!
One Response to “A home in Israel and a home in the U.S.”

  1. Nancy Tatge Says:

    Good to read another blog and glad you’r having such a great trip.

Leave a Reply

