Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes

David Colón-Margolies writes:

Everyone knows how it is living in a dorm room setting. One person gets a cold from lack of sleep, and then before you know it the whole room is sick, and so on. Well it seems it’s no different here at Armageddon than it is anywhere else. What started as a few stomach aches, and sniffles has turned into a bunch of sick puppies. You know it’s week six when every day there are different people coming and going from the site daily. In area H alone the number of people who have had to miss a couple days of digging has been growing on a daily basis. I too have joined the growing list of people who have had to miss days digging due to personal health problems.

The story goes as follows. This past weekend in Acre I toured the city with a large group of friends. The old city was a beautiful place to spend a delightful afternoon touring, eating, and enjoying the gorgeous views. Our car was scheduled to leave at four o’clock from Acre to head back to the Kibbutz and everything seemed like it was going fabulous. Then sadly tragedy struck at three forty five. Whilst walking down a stone ramp in the old city, my flip-flop caught an edge of rock and sent my left foot hurdling into the ground, removing a decent amount of skin and flesh from my big toe. After spending a few minutes wrapping it up, and stopping the bleeding, we climbed aboard our sherut and headed home. When I got back I treated it with anti-bacterial cream and bandages thinking that it would be fine. I spent the following two days working on the site discounting any pain as healing pains. After two days, I removed my bandage to find a quite unpleasant site. My wound was not doing so well. I have spent the past two days resting my foot and trying to get it back to a cleaner less infected state ever since.

On another note, although many have fallen ill, or hurt in the past week there have been many great finds. Tel Megiddo is buzzing with excitement as our season here comes to a close. Not only has it been a very enlightening and educational experience for me, but for the group on the whole. As this year’s expedition draws to a close, all of our work seems to be coming completely to fruition, and we are all very pleased with all of the work we have put in. It almost makes seeing cucumbers and hummus at every single meal bearable. As this week draws to a close, we find ourselves doing the final digging of the season. Next week will be spent finishing cleaning of the areas and final digging. This will be followed by the slow and tedious process of taking down the entire site, removing all the equipment, and preparing to bid Megiddo farewell for another two years. Hopefully by the time I am in Paris for seven hours waiting for my connection flight home, I will be able to skip on my healed toe and order a nice glass of chardonnay, a baguette, and brie.

Leave a Reply

