What a fabulous experience this dig is!

Kim Snyder writes:

I have had a wonderful time here at Megiddo. There is absolutely so much to an archaeological dig. I knew it was more complicated than the movies make it look, but the sheer magnitude is amazing! I am soooo glad this was on my bucket list, and I am soooo glad to have spent my time and resources getting here! I really think more people should take the time to experience this kind of thing!

Most of my time over the last five weeks has been working as the registrar for my area. Every thing that is found is debated, scrutinized and tagged from the moment it is found until it finds its way into storage, restoration, or a museum, or in some cases another display. The academic discussions on the Tel have been fascinating. I have worked in the academic environment for a great deal of my adult life, and to see the debates and discussions happen in real-time is a once in a lifetime opportunity: Is it a floor? Which floor? Which time period? What about the angle? What about when it disappears? What is this weird thing we found? How does it relate? Does it change what we thought? How does it relate to the Chicago timelines?

And then there are the practical questions: Where’s my turrea? Does anyone have any buckets? Is that my trowel? What time is it!? And then in Area H: Where’s Gavin? It is an amazing process.

The low-side is that my body is protesting loudly. While the heat is much higher than I am used to in the States, the humidity is much lower, so I have been able to function quite well up until this last weekend. However, I can either fight my body and continue to go up to the site, which will result in a severe illness, or I can work from base, and help out with the increasing pressure to get things finished in two weeks and get the database completely caught up. And this is the debate I have been having for three days. Obviously, the only logical choice is to hang back at base, but since I am a “doer” (and those of you who know me are painfully aware of this), it is not as easy a call as you might think. So, as of tomorrow, I will be doing some of the critical work at the base. Still very important stuff, and this way I get to see ALL the interesting material coming down from the whole Tel!

I continue to learn a great deal, and am finishing up coursework here as well. I am not looking forward to the final exam for the Lecture Course (I hate tests!), but I am enjoying the paper I am researching for the Graduate Seminar (I LOVE research!). The study tours have been great as well. Last weekend we toured Tel Safi, but you may be more familiar with the name “Gath.” It’s the site we believe is the city Goliath came from. This is one huge site! A metropolis level habitation, and a much larger site that the largest Megiddo occupation. We did not see any evidence of giants buried there, but since one of my boyfriends was of Greek heritage and was about six feet six, I can certainly see why someone of that stature, from a city this big, was certainly thought to be a giant! (I certainly felt tiny next to my old boyfriend!)

Two more weeks, and I am looking forward to learning much more – it gets really crazy from here and Fizzer is looking forward to whatever we might find in the next few days!

Leave a Reply

