My first day in Israel

Mary Laurel writes:

And I am already sunburned. I thought the trees lining the streets of Tel Aviv would protect me.  But my English/Irish skin is unforgiving. So slather on the sunscreen.

I had the great pleasure of lunching with an Israeli from America – cousin of a log-time friend. What a treat. Israel is fortunate to have a linguist/scholar like her.

Today I squirmed my way through the Carmel market and craft fair. Everything from bananas to bracelets, spices and sunglasses, nuts and nicknacks.

I visited Founders Square. Although I was very young when Ben Gurion made the proclamation of Independence, I saw the films and cried along with everyone else.

Tomorrow, off to the Eretz Yisrael Museum. Thursday, I’ll be joining you at last. Please save a little piece of pottery for me.

Leave a Reply

