Home?

Samantha Malone writes:

I woke up at 4:30 this morning here in New York, after god knows how many hours of traveling yesterday. To say that I miss Megiddo would be the epitome of an understatement, although being home does have it’s perks (like sleeping and egg sandwiches). Traveling home was a ridiculously long period of reflection (and frustration, after being delayed and doubly searched at every single checkpoint, only to arrive and find out that my bags didn’t make it back to JFK with me). By the end of my odyssey, I’d basically been awake for two days straight, and turned into a rambling Megiddo zombie. I opened my laptop immediately when I got home, and gave my parents a very slow recap of what I had been doing over the past three weeks. The process of editing, reviewing, and uploading photos is long – and was ultimately sad. But the photos I have are proof of what an incredible experience I had throughout my stay in Israel.

I’ll admit, I’m not going to miss swatting at flies all day, but I already miss everything (and everyone) else. To the lucky people who are joining the second session and staying on from the first: good luck, and have fun! And to everyone who was involved in the first session, thank you so much for everything. I’m certain it’s thanks to you all that I learned so much about archaeology, Israel, and especially myself. I couldn’t have asked for more. You can be sure that I’ll be back on the Tel the first chance that I get – see you in 2012!

Leave a Reply

