From Brazil to Megiddo… here I go!

Julia Martins writes:

Hi everyone!

It’s just so great reading about your experiences at the Tel and getting ready for the dig! I can’t tell you just how excited I am to be a part of something so amazing as this! I’m already packing and can’t wait to join you at the Second Session.

As some of you may know, I’m Brazilian. After taking 3 years of Law and realizing I just didn’t like it, I switched my grad school from Law to History. It was rather hard to do so, because here in Brazil Professors just don’t make a lot of money. So, I was afraid of abandoning a career of stability and financial security – as and attorney or a judge – and engaging this “adventure” of trying to survive being a scholar. This is one of our greatest problems in Brazil: the Professors are often underpaid and the career itself can be frustrating, since most Professors don’t get to live as comfortably as they would have hoped. Naturally, almost everyone objected my “crazy decision” of being a History Professor.

But I couldn’t be happier today. I’m certain I did the right thing, because I wake up every morning looking forward to studying and teaching. Last year, when I quit Law School, I went to Greece to celebrate it. I had never felt better. I got to see lots of dig sites and the idea of joining a dig popped into my head.  And today I’m glad I made that change in my life, I couldn’t imagine myself doing anything different. Of course, I work a lot. To live a comfortable life being a teacher, you must work hard, speak several languages and do a lot of research. So, since I’m still in grad school, I work mostly doing French books translations and being a French teacher. Besides that, I do research at the University I go to. My field is art history – which I love. Even though it is tougher to try and make a living out of the career I chose (compared to Law, at least), I don’t mind it. I love being a teacher; to me it feels like getting paid to have fun.

So, after quitting Law and surprising all my friends and family, I embraced this new career completely, trying to make up for the three years I spent complaining about going to Law School. I was having a historical archeology class when my professor started to talk about ongoing digs and mentioned Megiddo.  I got curious and searched online for more information. Even though my major will be Art History, I got really interested in having this archaeological experience, especially because I’ve never been to Israel before. And then I had an amazing surprise: Israel Finkelstein was coming to the city I live in, in the very south of Brazil (Porto Alegre), for a lecture! If that wasn’t a sign, what on earth would be? Therefore, after attending his lecture, I applied online and… here I am, ready to join you all for this adventure! I’m sure it will be the experience of a lifetime.

One Response to “From Brazil to Megiddo… here I go!”

  1. There is no sense pursuing a career that makes a lot of money if you are miserable doing it.

Leave a Reply

