Only the second day… and yet…!

Catherine Pasqualoni writes:

It is only day two and I already feel like I’ve been doing this forever. In the past couple of days I have lifted hundreds of buckets of dirt and touched thousands of stones. It is amazing to me that every day for the next three weeks I will be touching walls that were laid in place thousands of years ago by people who were not all that different from ourselves (despite the generation gap).

I am an Ancient Studies major, focusing in Archaeology, at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. It is a fantastic program, taught by fantastic scholars. Most of my time and attention in school is dedicated to Ancient Greek language, history, and archaeology, but what I feel that I do not get enough of is Ancient Near Eastern Studies. My interest in this region and its impact on the rest of the world (in both the past and present) has been growing rapidly for some time now and it is indescribably wonderful to have the opportunity to be taught on-site by the leading experts in the field. I am more than a little intimidated.

I have been assigned to work in Area J, a Bronze Age (my favorite time period) religious center (my favorite aspect of civilization). We haven’t quite begun any actual excavation yet—we’re still cleaning up the site—but we are close! I know that the work we are doing now is just grunt work and that I’m not really supposed to be enjoying it, but I am. The work is tough, but incredibly satisfying. I love waking up early and watching the sun rise over the Jezreel Valley. I love getting covered in dirt everyday. I love that there are over a hundred people around me who are just as dorky about all of this as I am. This is where I belong and this is what I should be doing. I just wish I could stay for more than three weeks.

Har Megiddo is supposed to be the location of the battle that will end the world. For myself, however, it feels to be quite the opposite.

Over and out, for now,
Catherine

PS: Shout-out to Dan Gray, my square-mate, who wanted very much to be mentioned in this post.

4 Responses to “Only the second day… and yet…!”

  1. Would that there were more such “dorky” people in the world! Keep on digging!

  2. BArbara Webb Says:

    Cat,
    Your post made me cry! I am so happy that you are happy and have found your calling. I am so proud of you.
    Love,
    Aunt Barbara

  3. Your mother Says:

    Glad things are going well. It was good to talk with you last night. Let us know what you do this weekend.

  4. Aunt Kathy Says:

    Cat~how wonderful for you! I can just picture you standing there, looking out at the wonderfulness that surrounds you!! You are such an incredible young woman, we are all sooo proud of you!!
    Take care and we look forward to reading more..love you!!
    Satnam, your NH branch of family:)

Leave a Reply

