Last Minutes of Packing Stress

Kim Snyder writes:

It’s Sunday, June 6th, and I have something like 36 hours before I leave. I’m in a bit of a quandary: Did I make all the calls? Do I have everything I need? Is my itinerary complete enough? Did I get my daughter successfully packed for Dance Recital and Camp? Insanity! Insanity, I say!

I was blessed this morning by the sermon at my church. Bob filled in for the pastor today (my pastor is on Sabbatical this summer). And he preached from Jeremiah 29:11: “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” His focus was on dreams. It reminded me (and reinforced to my husband), that going on this dig is one of my dreams. (That and the whole host of hugs and well-wishes I got from folks going with me “virtually!”)
Dreams are risky. This dream is one of the 100 things on my bucket list (I plan to live to be at least 112, so I should have time to do it all!). This dream means leaving my family – or in particular my daughter – for two months. I’m sure they will be fine, but it is stressful to leave one’s children in someone else’s care for that length of time. Her ADHD and Asperger’s will have to be monitored by her father and grandparents this summer. Dad will have to handle school registration. He may even have to get school supplies and locker gear.
This dream means I will be living a different lifestyle for two months. This adventure means mornings beginning at 4 am, working hard for a couple of hours before a dairy based breakfast, working some more before lunch, and working on learning new processes and programs for handling artifacts. I’ll be taking classes, and so will be a student for two months, checking to see if my brain can handle an academic workload.
I’d really like to pursue a PhD, but I’m not sure if my brain can handle it. I’m 7 years old, recovering from a primary brain tumor. My Neruo-oncologist says I can do it if I want to, but not likely at the speed I want! It took me a while to be able to read after the surgery, and my reading is still a bit slower than I’d like. I hope it will improve over the summer!
My language skills are questionable. My pronunciation is horrible. Since I tend to pick up accents as I go, I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get by. I know that so much of Israel is multi-lingual (Hebrew, Arabic and English on street signs, and so many of the folks speak English), but there is some comfort is being able to spit off, “Where is the restroom?” in proper cadence and understanding the answer without the phrase book!
I’m less concerned about the dig than my other adventures. I will be contacting a friend in Israel who is a tour guide (possibly the best tour guide in the whole country) and getting his help on some crazy stuff like a four-wheeler tour of the back country. And I want to see some sights that require some creative planning: like Jericho and Herodium.
And there’s always the stress of being on a plane for that long – starting the flights at 5:15 pm and getting there at 4:15 pm! I am a bit anxious about negotiating the bit from the airport to my Hostel, but I am certain it will be fine. I take the cab all the time in Houston, and Norma (Tel Aviv University) has given us such great instructions I know it will be fine!
So, here I go – rampant final packing and final arranging and making sure I got all that sunscreen I needed. And, this time I go, I will be wearing those boots in the morning (last time I went I got to the airport in the wrong shoes, and had to buy boots in Israel!)!

3 Responses to “Last Minutes of Packing Stress”

  1. Wanda Herron Says:

    You will shine this Summer, Kim!

  2. Two months looks like a long time on this end, but “it will fly by,” as the old timers say. Thinking about you and visualizing what you’re doing and where you are – all good
    Give Reuven a hello for me when you see him – I hope that 4-wheeling adventure happens … it was one of the best memories I have of traveling around with Reuven and Anna

  3. Kim,

    Have been catching-up on what you have been doing. It is fun to read what you’ve written and what your companions have written also.
    All sounds so exciting.
    Take care,
    barbara

Leave a Reply

